The International DUBLIN Literary Award

12 November 2019

We are proud to announce that two novels published by Kwela Books (an imprint of NB-Uitgewers/Publishers) are among 156 books nominated by libraries around the world for the 2020 International Dublin Literary Award. Congratulations Nozizwe Cynthia Jele, author of The Ones with Purpose, and Kirsten Miller, author of The Hum of the Sun, on this wonderful achievement!

With the winner receiving €100,000, the Award is the world’s most valuable annual prize for a single work of fiction published in English. Nominations include 50 novels in translation with works nominated by libraries from 40 countries in Africa, Europe, Asia, the US & Canada, South America and Australia & New Zealand.

Organised by Dublin City Council, the 2020 Award was launched today [11th November] by Cllr. Mary Fitzpatrick, representing Lord Mayor Paul McAuliffe, Patron of the Award.

Speaking of the global interest in the Award, the City Librarian Mairead Owens remarked: “This great prize affirms Dublin’s commitment to international writers and translators, to literature and creativity. Through this award Dublin, a UNESCO City of Literature, brings the worldwide community of readers together to read the works of contemporary writers from all corners of the world.”

The full list of 156 titles can be viewed at

The shortlist will be published on 2nd April 2020, and the Lord Mayor of Dublin will announce the winner on 10th June 2020.

The International DUBLIN Literary Award is a Dublin City Council initiative.