NB Publishers

Sign up for our newsletter!

Author Focus

Willem Anker
Biographical info

Willem Anker was born in Citrusdal on February 3, 1979. He matriculated at Huguenot High School in Wellington in 1996. At present he lectures in creative writing at Stellenbosch University. He obtained his D.Litt at the same university in 2007. 

In 2004 he wrote his first text for theatre, the site-specific piece Skroothonde (Dogs of Scrap), which won the Aartvark Prize for innovative work at the Aardklop National Arts Festival. Since then he has won numerous awards for his theatre work. His first novel, Siegfried, was published by Kwela in 2007. Buys, his highly acclaimed second novel, was published by Kwela in 2014.

Did you know?

· The first version of Siegfried was written in 2002 as part of an MA study at Stellenbosch University.
· His doctorate was completed with Prof Louise Viljoen as promoter and examined the use of the nomadic figure or wanderer in the texts of Breyten Breytenbach and Alexander Strachan.
· Smag, his Afrikaans translation of Sarah Kane’s play Crave, was performed at arts festivals all over the country. This marked his first involvement with the translation of a play.

Author bookshelf

Siegfried, Kwela Books (2007) 
Buys. Kwela Books (2014)



Hertzog Prize (2016) - Buys
Helgaard Steyn Prize (2016) - Buys
Afrikaans Onbeperk award for innovative thought (2015)
KykNET-Rapport Book Prize for Fiction (2015) – Buys
WA Hofmeyr Prize for Fiction (2015) – Buys
University of Johannesburg Prize for best creative Afrikaans work (2015) – Buys 
Jan Rabie & Marjorie Wallace Writer’s Scholarship for 2012

ATKV Prize for Drama (2012) – 
ATKV Prize for Drama (2010) – Skrapnel
Smeltkroes Prize for best new Afrikaans theatre text (Aardklop National Arts Festival, 2009) – Skrapnel
University of Johannesburg Debut Prize (2008) – Siegfried
Jan Rabie/Rapport Prize for innovative literature (2008) – Siegfried
Sanlam Prize for Afrikaans theatre (2006) – Slaghuis
Aartvark prize for innovative work (Aardklop National Arts Festival, 2004) – Skroothonde


List of published titles


2007 Siegfried
2014 Buys

2015 Samsa-masjien 
2011 Skrapnel 
2007 Slaghuis

Books By This Author